Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is said that popular events such as the Football World Cup and similar sporting events play an imortant role in easing international tensions. I strongly agree with this predicament. Firstly, these events are held in different nations and hence is a huge contributor to globalisation. Spectators arrive from all over the world to witness these games and contribute towards tourism spending. Secondly, such events force fans to explore and understand various cultures. For this very reason commentators will often throw in facts about countries participating in that day's play. Infact, many times spectators are cheering for players from nations other than their own. For eg: A survey revealed that 40% of Middle Easterns were supporting Asian athletes in the Olympic games. Further, these shows are a great platform to demonstrate patritotism without offending others since such emotions are generally encouraged in sports. I believe that sporting conventions are a fantastic outlet that blurs the racial differences and brings everyone together for a common underlying cause. Therefore, it has great capability to improve international relations betweeen countries.