In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. -> topic: traffic, transport Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Although many argue that substantial funds should be allocated to upgrading current transportation network, I agree with the assumption that investing heavily in the construction of railway network for express trains will bring added benefits to urban areas since it meets the need of booming travel. On the one hand, those who advocate for enhancing traditional public system believe that it promotes environmental sustainability. They contend that this development encourages a modal shift from private vehicles to public transport that could relieve congestion and gas emissions, which contributes to more improved air quality and slower greenhouse effects. The city of Finland, Helsinki, for instance, has devoted large sums of money to rebuilding bicycle infrastructure such as dedicated bike lines or bicycle-sharing programs so that they can promote the frequency of eco-friendly means. On the other hand, it appears to be more worthwhile to make a significant investment in the expansion of subway, as the demand for travel will never cease to grow. This is because people either commute more regularly than ever before or the requirements for more freight carriers to adapt to economic growth are surging, which altogether can not be fulfilled with limited capacities and lanes of overground services. Therefore, high-speed rail, which offers a large volume of space and ensures reduced travel times, facilitates living standards. A clear example can be seen with Japanese bullet trains which have minimized travel times from 6 hours down to 2.5 hours. Consequently, I agree with the view of implementing such projects for the aforementioned reason. In conclusion, while some insist that it is of great importance to advance established public transport, I think the efforts to expand underground services should be made to support the growing population.