Some people think that competitive sports have a positive effect on the education of teenagers while others argue that the effect is negative. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Competition in sport can play an important role in a teenager’s development. However, we must be careful as this can have both positive and negative effects on the child and people disagree about which is the most significant. Initially, let’s think about the reasons why teenagers benefit from competition in sports. On the one hand, sport is a great way to reduce stress and focus the mind away from lessons. Furthermore, a little competition can help teenagers to focus more and give them a reason to perform better. In addition, when playing in teams, these sports help teenagers learn team-building skills and can improve their physical well-being, which is a really important benefit. On the other hand, competitive sports can also cause problems for individuals if people feel that when they lose, they fail. This is clearly unsatisfactory and may cause serious issues with confidence. It is certain that this pressure makes sport less fun and means teenagers do not want to take part. Although being part of a team can be enjoyable, some people cannot perform as well as others and they may feel isolated from other team members. This can be a serious concern for teenagers who want to fit in with others around them. To sum up, there are good arguments on both sides. While competitive sports can play a useful role in developing a teenager, it is important that sports are monitored to ensure individuals do not feel pressured or stressed when playing. It is important that young people understand the value of competition and that even if they fail, they feel that they have achieved something