The crime rate nawadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advance technology which can prevent and solve crime. Do you agree or disagree?

In today's advanced world, technology has enhanced people's lives in numerous ways. It has facilitated communication, healthcare and knowledge earning. Although technology has made some crimes harder to commit, it has opened the way for cyber crimes which is a hectic matter nowadays. Therefore, I disagree with the statement that crime rates are decreasing due to the improvement of science. Some people advocate this state by the fact that with the invention of computers and the use of the internet, some crimes which were repetitive in society are now harder to commit and are decreasing. For example, shoplifting was a common assault in the past. However after the invention of CCTV cameras, this crime rate decreased sharply. Another example is driving crimes. With the development of face and car number detector technologies, the assaults related to driving are plummeted. So, it can be said that there are various crimes which are easier to solve with the help of technology. On the other hand, there are several cyber crimes arising after the development of science and the internet. Take phishing as an example. it is a common threat in today's society which usually cannot be tracked or solved. Furthermore, the internet can cause many other damages to people, like cyber-bullying. Hence, the popularity of the internet and technology has made the possibility of numerous crimes to be committed. Overall, I am inclined to believe that the development of science facilitated the tracking and solving a vast number of crimes but at the same time, it opened the door to many others. Today, people should take the cyber- crimes more seriously and cyber-police should take measures on this issue.