In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

Policymakers have been witnessed that a huge number of citizens became sick due to junk food, and they believe that it is crucial for a government to be imposed a higher tax on this type of food. This essay agrees that the government's official should issue a law that could minimize the demand for juck food, and this would be through tax. Firstly, imposing a higher tax on fast food will control the demand in the market and would encourage people to obtain a healthy lifestyle. There are various reasons why I believe that governments have to impose a higher tax on unhealthy meals is because this will control its demand. Economically speaking, it has been proven that applying tax for any products will lead to a decrease in the demand. Thus, putting a higher tax on fast food such as burgers and french fries would nudge people to decrease their spending on food. This means that an individual might divert that money into different aspects of their life. Something to mention, a sin tax, for instance, people pay for that type of tax on products that might harm them such as tobacco and alcohol. Another reason why I think that countries should be applied a substantial tax on junk food is that this might motivate individuals to obtain a healthy lifestyle. Hence, when a consumer sees that a healthy meal is cheaper than the unhealthy one this might encourage them to eat healthy. Despite the fact that everyone knows that a healthy choice tends to be expensive, a higher tax on fast food will make healthy meals affordable to the average consumer. Moreover, making unhealthy food less attractive might prevent many diseases and would reduce the number of citizens who are sick because of junk food. In conclusion, lawmakers have noticed that many people started to be sick because of the fast- foodfood which led them to impose a higher tax because this might control the demand from an economic viewpoint and would motivate people to have a healthy lifestyle. Given this situation, it seems that living in the consumerism era had made low-quality food more affordable, and that's why it is vital to impose a higher tax on junk food.