Some people view sports as an important feature of our society while others feel it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is sometimes considered that athletics is just a mere leisure activity that adds no further value to society because sports stars are usually selfish and lead a scandalous lifestyle. Although this view may not be totally wrong, in my opinion, I believe that sports play a vital role in our world today and this essay will elaborate on that. firstly, sports celebrities are intentionally self-centred as a good number of them don't give back to society and would hardly support government projects. Furthermore, some of them indulge in risky behaviours, bearing in mind that such acts boost their field performances and are not concerned about its hazardous effects. For example, during the last year's annual football league in my community, a well known middle field striker manifested symptoms likened to that of withdrawal syndrome and slumped at the peak of the game and when he regained consciousness, he revealed to the first aid team which I happened to be among that he forgot to sniff his marijuana as he usually does before each match. Thus, the insignificant impact of sports on their society is believed to be the reason why most people don't regard it as important. However, it is considered that sporting events contribute majorly to community development and I am in support of this view because during sports events people from different disciplines are hired to render needed services. For instance, my mother who is a chef was employed to prepare sumptuous meals during the 2018 annual table tennis competition held within our locality. Thus, games not only projects young individuals to world recognition but also make people have something doing. In conclusion, it is believed that athletics is just free time activity done solely for pleasure. I am in support of the view which says that it brings cultural advancement because it has fed many families and has brought people to the limelight.