Individual greed and selfishness have been the basis of modern society. Some people think that we must return to older more traditional values such as respect for the and the local community in order to create a better world to live in.

I agree to an extent in terms of selfishness not being a positive trait; however, greed is not necessarily a trait that should be viewed in a bad light. Greed plays a major role in many of the inventions we use on the daily. A scientist greed for achievement might result in a cure for cancer. Furthermore, greed as a word is viewed positively in different languages such as Arabic and Korean as the drive for success.   That being said, society functions on the collective efforts of individuals; therefore, greed and selfishness should not distribute the community's peace. The best interest of the group should be held in higher regard. Some may argue that personal freedom is more important than adhering to the needs of society, but that is proven false. A good representation of this argument is how countries that enforced a lockdown during COVID-19 were able to keep the number of patients low and control the spread. These countries were able to snap back to normal lives quicker than countries that chose to allow individual freedoms. In addition to the above, the concept of what a good or bad value is subjective. For instance, honesty is viewed well but it may be seen as rudeness in different contexts. Older more traditional has been lost through the years due to one reason or another. Overall, we have witnessed in history books that regardless of the values, no perfect country exists. While a balance between individualism and communism is important, the lack of greed would not create a utopia.