Do the benefits of genetic engineering outweigh the dangers?

Tampering with DNA is a controversial issue. Though some may claim that it is ill-advised for humans to “play the role of God”, I believe that genetic engineering has the potential to alleviate hunger, eradicate diseases, and reduce environmental damage. Genetically modified food could be grown in impoverished regions to feed the hungry. With the help of technology, nutritious food could be produced in abundance even in areas that suffer from unfavorable climates such as drought. “Golden rice”, for instance, is famous for being much richer in nutrients than conventional rice, and able to withstand harsh conditions. Genetic engineering may also provide the solution to the eradication of diseases. Many medical conditions are caused by mutations of cells, which may be minimized by making alterations to DNA. It may even become possible to remove certain cells that are likely to cause illnesses even before a baby is born. Finally, making changes to the genetic structure of plants could lead to more environmentally-friendly agricultural practices. Currently, plants often need to be sprayed with pesticides in order to prevent them from being eaten by insects. Thus, the soil becomes saturated with harmful chemicals which could have a devastating impact on the ecosystem in the long run. However, with the application of genetic engineering, insect-resistant plants can be grown, eliminating the need to use pesticides. In conclusion, though there may be some negative aspects of genetic engineering, it can lead to the alleviation of hunger, the prevention of illnesses, and the protection of the environment. Thus, I believe that the merits of genetic engineering far outweigh the demerits.