Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

It is often argued that zoos are brutal and should be shut down, whereas others think that wildlife reserves are practical for conserving endangered animals. While I think that zoos are necessary for protecting and preserving endangered species, I also believe that it is an abuse of animal rights. On the one hand, the majority of the wildlife reserves protect the species which are about to go extinct by giving them the care they need such as doing regular medical checkup and providing them with the nutrients which are necessary for growth and development. Moreover, zoos conserve threatened species by assisting in breeding programs by measuring the hormone levels and reproductive period. A compelling example for this is the panda of Singapore. Pandas having small reproductive windows require human intervention to procreate, and are likely to go extinct without human assistance. With the help of the zookeepers and vets, two pandas have been bred successfully in Singapore. On the other hand, holding animals in captivity is unethical. It is a breach of animal rights for people to use animals for entertainment purposes or for making profit. Animals should be happily roaming in the wild instead of being ill-treated and locked in cages. Furthermore, as they are being confined in a small space, they do not have much space to move around, and this lack of exercise can cause physical and mental health disorders. Research has found that 60% of animals die within the first 2 years on arrival to zoos due to depression and psychological health problems. In conclusion, although zoos safeguard and conserve threatened species by providing the essential care they need, I strongly think that holding animals in captivity is inhumane and zoos should be closed down.