Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial perception heating a debate over techniques of treating prisoners. While there is a wide range of redeeming features of bringing offenders into prison, I would consider myself as an advocate of applying education and training. Without a shadow of a doubt, jailing criminals into prison is an optimal option as we have possibilities to control jailers’ behaviour. Indeed, the criminals who are prisoned can not deal harm to society, therefore citizens have no need to take care about the risks of danger since they are isolated from communities. For example, Nguyen Van Canh, who has murdered a whole family, suffered life imprisonment, which means that he no longer causes any threatening harm to the community in Viet Nam. Thus, putting criminals into jails is an understanding choice. On the other hand, despite the above, I would contend that providing education and training courses to jailers is a splendid choice since they deserve to have another chance. That is because they are all human, no one avoids making mistakes, so the prisoners who merely commit minor crimes such as shoplifting or robbery should be trained and educated as they have the capabilities to rejoin the society in order to contribute. Prisoners in Viet Nam can be cited as an apparent example, they are educated about numerous lines of work such as workers employers and environment protectors. As a result, inhabitants who commit minor crimes will definitely rejoin and contribute to society's improvement after being released. In conclusion, providing integral education and training courses for criminals gives them an opportunity to re-participate in a healthy community. Therefore, I reckon giving jailers a chance to re-integrate into the community through education and training is an optimal choice in the long term.