Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view? (frequently repeated topic)

It is argued that art has excessive funding, which could be used more efficiently. I agree with this statement, but I do not think that art is fully redundant, as it consolidates cultural values. Government expenditure on support of art is extremely high and overestimated. The finance allocated per year is huge, opening new methods for corruption. Kazakhstan, for instance, dispenses over 100 million dollars into this sector, which comprises 7% of its annual budget. This money could be used for innovative fields, such as robotics and artificial intelligence, as they would accelerate development and contribute to forming a firm economy. Unfortunately, government investments in such innovative realms usually are underestimated and significantly less compared to art. Shortening funding of art and directing this money into much more impactful spheres should be taken. Anyway, art should not be totally disrupted with no finances, as it is the staple of the national culture and must be strictly preserved. Art holds so much history, showing the evolution of national customs and traditions. It gives the opportunity to discern many historical facts, as artists tended to draw and depict such events. For example, we can gain so much awareness about France's history through their paintings and sculptures. Works of Francisco Chollet and other artists not only reflect the artistic trends of their time but also capture significant events, such as the French Revolution. Similarly, traditional Kazakh art, such as carpets and jewellery, demonstrates their historical heritage and nomadic nature. In conclusion, art is an essential part of the cultural identity of a nation and must not be totally defunded. Instead, finances for this realm should be shortened due to the massive corruption.