Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal.some people,however,think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The development of a nation has been measured with various parameters like economic, social, cultural. While many authorities believe that economy is the cornerstone of this assessment, others believe and I also firmly agree that other criteria must be taken into account. To begin with, in the current world scenario, the progress of a nation is rated based on how their wealth is growing. Industrialization and urbanisation have played a major role in this evolving idea of modernisation. For instance, off lately the Indian government's main target is to make India a 5 trillion dollar economy. Furthermore, competition to become a superpower has scaled to new heights in recent years and the fundamental basis of this is money. Additionally, indices created to assess the county's performance is largely based on income like purchasing power parity. However, only money-oriented thinking by those who are governing the whole nation has proven to be detrimental to the overall development of society. Firstly, literacy and healthcare should also be the prime focus. For instance, developed countries rank higher in these measures and so their happiness index. Secondly, the social and cultural progress of the nation is vital in preserving its identity and global reach and that should be on agenda as well. To support this, The United Nations considers Human Development Index as a major criterion and that includes all these factors. To conclude, although governing bodies should expand their wealth and income to establish the necessary infrastructure for the nation's success, they must also give education, health care, traditions and cultures equal importance. This will help our global village to become sustainable in long term.