Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a tremendously controversial perspective heating up a debate whether criminals should be put in jails or be educated and trained. Although the former is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, sending criminals to prison can be seen as the last resort since they cannot harm society. Keeping a prisoner behind bars can help protect society. Citizens will feel much more at ease when they know they are safe. For example, Le Van Luyen, a murderer who slaught a whole family, faced life-long imprisonment, which means he is no longer a potential threat to people in Vietnam. Therefore, it is beneficial to send perpetrators to prison. Although the redeeming features of putting perpetrators in prison are widely acknowledged, it is unfair if those of education and training are neglected. Prisoners that feel remorse often want to re-enter society. Furthermore, this creates an opportunity for them to better themself and contribute to the economy as well. Besides, this could also reduce the cost of having people behind bars therefore improving the economy as a whole. For example, many juvenile delinquents in Vietnamese prisons are educated about numerous lines of work such as engineering, cooking and temper-controlling. As a result, they can find a stable occupation and contribute to the community when liberated. Hence, school and training prisoners plays a paramount significant role. In conclusion, I strongly support the notion that having access to job training and an effective education is more important for criminals.