In many workplaces, online communication is getting more common than meeting face to face. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In many companies, holding conferences online is becoming more popular at an increasing rate than physical ones. Although digital meetings lack direct human interaction, which plays a significant role in problem-solving, I believe that the convenience and the easy accessibility that they bring about are more beneficial for many people in the future. On the one hand, one of the main drawbacks of communicating via the internet is the absence of face-to-face human communication which is significant for making important decisions at many workplaces. Thus, the most efficient solutions that can easily be obtained by interpersonal discussions become more difficult to achieve. For instance, many engineers will not be able to go through intense brainstorming together, utilizing drawings, mathematical equations, and other methods to ensure complete safety in their constructions if they are communicating online. On the other hand, video teleconferencing has the favourable advantage of being able to be held from home, allowing the employees to work from more accessible and comfortable places. Doing so abolishes the burden of travelling long distances and is much more time-saving. To give a clear example, during the Covid-19 pandemic, employees can perform their duties from their homes without any physical contact. In addition, successful organizations, which have many branches around the world, are progressing their global projects by holding online meetings with the representatives of the respective countries. To conclude, online communications do not have crucial human interactions which are necessary for in-depth discussions; however, I believe that the pros of having easy access and much comfort outweigh the disadvantages of internet meetings.