Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, parents have tried to look for the most suitable activity for their teenagers. Some parents force their teen-aged children to do voluntary work in their free time while others think it would not be a good idea. Personally, I totally disagree with this opinion because of several reasons. Firstly, teenagers should be allowed to spend free time on their activities in which they are interested. In general, unpaid community services consist of only cleaning public places, teaching children or planting. Although these works could benefit the communities, most juveniles do not get much advantages from these services. Therefore, they should spend time on any beneficial or leisure activities what they prefer, like playing music or sports. If these young people grow up and are specialists in their interested fields, they can help the community more than they could as teenagers. In addition, most juveniles have less free time, so they should not be required to do community works anymore. Many people think teenagers have much free time after school but it is not true for most young people between the ages of 12 and 18 years old. In many cases, due to high competition, students of this age have to spend a lot of time and effort to attend famous high schools or universities. In some cases, teenagers who have financial problems must do a part- time job after school and on the weekend. As a result, their free time is less than what people expect and these young people should take a rest in their free time instead of joining public services. In conclusion, from my perspective, unpaid voluntary services should not be required for juveniles because they should spend time on what they like and there is less free time for them.