An increasing number of people waNT TO BUY CLOTHES, SHOES, AND OTHER ITEMS PRODUCED BY FAMOUS INTERNATIONAL BRANDS. WHY IS THIS? DO YOU THINK IT IS A POSITIVE OR A NEGATIVE DEVELOPMENT

There has been an incline in the population that vie for branded clothes. This uptrend has been the result of the fact that the world markets are now open to different countries. Most of the renowned brands in the West, rope in companies from the East, thereby getting them cheap labour. This allows them to export their products all across the world. In addition to this, branded clothes are an indication of a person's social status. More often than not, this is the reason why one chooses to go for branded clothes even if they are a little over their budget. Furthermore, some luxury items like bags, watches and shoes are also being bought and sold as collector's items. Some people use this as a business opportunity and earn multifold profits by selling such high-demand products. In my opinion, tying self-worth with any brand one uses is certainly not a healthy and sustainable way to lead your life. In addition to this, the brands that allow abuse in pursuit of getting cheaper labour must be held responsible. In conclusion, I concur that there are definitely a lot of negative aspects to this development. A business opportunity should just be that, and must not destroy social harmony. Definitely, the youth, who is largely impacted by this notion, should tread this path carefully as the impact can be deep. A fad should never decide someone's self-worth nor should it destroy lives as it happens in the case of manual labour being taken advantage of.