Detailed description of crimes on newspaper and TV can have bad consequences on society, so this kind of information should be restricted on media. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people argue that restricting detailed information regarding criminal activities in media like newspapers and TV will reduce negative impacts on society. I agree with the statement because excessive descriptions of the bad behaviour of criminals in media result in poor mental health in the news consumers. The media has a responsibility to avoid promoting violence, so they should restrict the details of this kind of information. News depicting violence and criminal behaviours may have negative psychological impacts on vulnerable people, especially young people. Consuming criminal disproportionate news can lead to imitation among young audiences with insufficient critical judgement. For example, juvenile delinquents in the US admitted that they just wanted to imitate the acts of criminals shown on the news. Moreover, watching detailed descriptions by showing photos and videos of the criminal committing a crime on TV every day can lead to an increase in stress levels on a daily basis, resulting in long-term psychological issues. For example, when people who are prone to have anxiety disorder watch some news that triggers their negative thoughts, this may cause them insomnia or maybe panic attacks. In conclusion, I agree that detailed information on criminal actions should be restricted because this can cause many drawbacks for individuals.