Online shopping has become popular. Is it a positive or negative development.

In recent years, more customers have increasingly preferred to shop online rather than in offline stores. Some shoppers believe that this trend has many drawbacks while others think it seems to be a positive development in the retail industry. Personally, shopping via online platforms has both advantages and disadvantages in different perspectives. The main benefit is that online shopping is a convenient option for buyers. In the past, people always went through the traffic and bought products from physical stores. Nonetheless, in present days, they can order such products from online stores in a few minutes with a few clicks. These items are then delivered to buyers’ homes in a few days. Therefore, these customers could spend time on doing other activities what they want instead. Consider shopping in Bangkok as an example. A few years ago, given that road congestion and crowded department stores, some people had to spend all day purchasing one item. Nowadays, the customers however can do it within an hour through mobile applications. On the other hand, shopping online has more risks of fraud throughout the shopping process. It is common that purchasing via websites or applications requires personal information of customers, including address, mobile number and credit card number. In many cases, online platform operators sell the customer’s database to other companies. This is a key reason why sometimes sale representatives and insurance brokers have people’s mobile numbers and call to offer new products annoyedly. In some cases, if the security system of such platforms is not good enough, this information may be leaked to the public, or in the worst cases, to hackers. For instance, In South-East Asia, there are call center gangs. These criminals hack the personal details and deceit the public to transfer money to them. In conclusion, although shopping online brings convenience to customers, it cannot be denied that there is a negative impact from this progress: risk of decisiveness.