Some people believe that playing sport is important, whereas, others think it’s just a leisure activity for some people. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion also.

Physical activities are very essential as they keep everyone fit and healthy. Some agree with this assertion while others are of the opinion that sporting is just for pleasure. This essay agrees with the view that sporting is of great help to society as a whole. Doing sports is very good considering a number of reasons such as the emotional, personal, and even physical benefits. It is agreed that exercising has helped a lot of individuals to stay out of the hospital. For instance, doctors encourage those diagnosed with diabetes and high blood pressure to do exercises a lot. In 2010, a study was conducted in South Africa on 24 patients with high sugar levels to see the effects of exercising two times a day. The results proved that after a daily routine of five days the sugar levels dropped by 50%. On the other side of the coin, others argue that sporting is just for fun. The invalid argument notes that such activities are for people with time and money who have invested already, the poor have no extra time and cash for such. This does not hold water since there are free affordable sports such as running, where people do not need guidance or to pay for anything. In Hong Kong, for instance, old people and even some youth do exercises in the playgrounds without attending any special lessons. In conclusion, the essay agrees that physical activities are of great importance as they extend the life span of people. Though some think otherwise.