Some people believe that when designing a building, the most important thing to be considered is the function rather than the appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Architecture has also changed significantly from the past, as in the case of civil engineering nowadays. One portion of the society argues that the function of the building is the primary concern when the construction plan is picturized. I am of the same opinion that the purpose of the construct is a more preferred item than its aesthetic appeal and the reasons are explained below. To commence, when an architect is drawing a plan for the building, he should consider what for the proposed monument is built. If he considers only the beauty of the work, it may not serve what it is meant for. The best example of this is a building in my old college, which was built for the patients' relatives to rest. The building was marvellously designed but it did not serve the accommodation as some of the artworks prevented the vehicles of the fire brigade,in case of an emergency. So authorities declined permission and later converted into a laboratory. Hence one can say that motive is more priority than the beauty of the block. On the other hand, some people consider that a marvellous historical enclave is a feast for the eyes and attracts folks to the place even when the purpose is different. For example, the house of the Indian President was originally built for the British Viceroy to lodge, but now, it is a popular tourist attraction and an income source for India. Although this is true, one can still say that primary consideration is to be given to what the building is for. To Summarize, contemporary architecture is more practical than aesthetic concerns. Although aesthetically constructed things are pleasing to the eyes, they should do the job for which they are erected.