People eat more processed food than they did in the past. Why is this? What are the effects of this?

Peoples eating habits have changed a lot in the modern world replacing home-cooked food. This is because prepackaged items are readily available, but are causing severe health issues. People are consuming readymade food, as it can be picked up from anywhere and can be served easily as compared to the past where people preferred freshly cooked foods with good amounts of fresh vegetables and fruits. This is because of the lifestyle changes that most of them are developing a strong like for snack foods, which involves no or less time for preparation and are good at the taste. This means that food is readily available whenever you feel hungry and require no process to cook them. For example, children like to snack on the foods they like instead of cooked foods as they tend to be for their taste and easy availability and do not need to wait for their parents to cook and serve them. The primary effect of these eating habits can cause severe health issues. Processed foods have low nutrients and high contents of preservatives, which are helpful in storing the food for more time. These stored food items can be harmful to the digestive system causing many ailments namely stomach cancer, gastritis etc. For instance, processed meat or pickles are preserved by salting and using vinegar, which contains acetic acid which when consumed over a period of time can use severe stomach diseases and tend to be at higher risk of cancers. In conclusion, processed food is consumed for its easy and hassle-free availability and the consequences are critical health problems affecting a large population in total.