Formal exams are used to assess students at the end of each semester in many countries. Why are these exams used by schools and universities? What other types of assessment are possible?

In many nations, academic institutions challenge their students based on assessments like written exam forms to evaluate students ' ability at the end of every semester. Nevertheless, in my perspective, I believe that institutions should consider other practices that can be implemented, such as presentation, practice by internship, and group assignment. In some countries, schools and universities implemented written appraisals to evaluate the student's capability at the end of every term or semester, one of the reasons to know how far the student can understand the subjects. For example, in the Abingdon School in the United Kingdom, chemistry teachers constantly evaluate students ' understanding via written questions. While the students got the worst grade, around 0-70, they must take a remedial class or be added to the additional class in the summer season. As a result, many students put a significant effort to pass the exam to vacation without being disturbed. Related to the last thing, a student's goal changed to a precise pass with a minimum score and can vacation in peace. Even though, the subject learning outcome of making sure students understand the subject and improve every subject's skill like presentation, practice by internship, and group assignment. This issue may have occurred because of an inaccurate assessment method, and maybe academic institutions can match each exam to every section of the subject. For instance, the public speaking class at the University of Manchester doing a presentation practice to see the college student's skill in that subject is more compatible than other exam models. So, it can match the actual working environment. To summarize, Formal exams are fundamental to measure students ' ability. However, academic institutions have to adapt each exam model to the teaching subject. In addition, the school or universities have to consider another alternative method to measure and improve the student's skill.