Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently the number of violence and crimes is increasingly popular, which lead to jumping in the figure of prisoners. Individuals claim that prisons are not a great solution to decrease their risks, while they believe that education and training have positive consequences. I totally agree with this statement. In the following paragraphs, I will explain why and give vivid reasons. To begin with, I strongly believe that criminal deserves punishment to create a healthy environment, but he also needs a second chance to practice his life. Imagine that 15 years old boy spent his entire life in an empty small and dirty room, doing nothing except looking at the roof! It is a waste of time. What if we teach and train him? I think he will believe he is a great person and has an important role in society. Hence, he will change from a bad to a good man. Maybe this child will invent something that will help us. For example, Governments could build a library and ask the prisoners to read at least fifteen books in a month, the reward will be to minimise the length of the staying. Or they could conduct a school inside the jail, and study different subjects or organise various activities and competitions among the criminals. They could be doctors, teachers or judges. Thus they will change dramatically to be influential people. There is a famous prison in Germany that gives the prisoners a chance to practice their rights and lives inside the prison. What is funny is most of them do not want to go out. In addition, criminals are dangerous, there are many of them with different backgrounds, cultures and characteristics. So if we do not pay attention and look after them, society will be in danger even themselves. They will end up killing and hurting people,especially their children or suicide. Moreover, there are plenty of people inside the jail, they are clever, critical thinkers and inventors, so they can be beneficial. I remembered the movie called The Professor and the Crazy Man. It was about a man who killed a poor father by mistake. He regretted and to forgive himself he asked their mother to teach her and her children. And he also helped the professor to create a dictionary. This dictionary now is well-known. In conclusion, I think sending people to prisons is not a good idea instead governments should consider them as a part of society and give them chances to learn.