Art classes, such as paintng and drawing, art as important to a child's development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high schools. To what extent do you agree or diagree?

There is a common belief that, due to the importance of the arts in children ’s development, they need to be taught as a compulsory subject in school. From this author’s perspective, this point is meaningless because of the high demand for skills and competitive careers. Firstly, there is an undeniable point that the arts play a vital role in a child’s development because they develop the left hemisphere of the brain and social skills. Obviously, when a child interacts with a colorful picture or a lively statue, they will be captivated, leading to the renovation of brain activities, which children will have essentially as social skills in the future. However, this author contends that while the former opinion may be valid, it cannot deny the high demand for talents that cannot emerge in general students around the world. A child can have different talents in several subjects like math, geology, or literature, so it may be a waste of money and human resources to involve children in professions they do not love. In terms of the children's benefits, the compulsory trend can have a visibly detrimental effect on their future careers. Clearly, some art jobs, such as architecture or painting, have a competitive point for general people, even if they are art talents. Thus, children cannot have a stable job when they study art classes compulsorily, which is meaningless to a future life. Additionally, students should be allowed to choose if they want to study art courses because they can spare that time for developing themselves or social relationships instead of learning something useless for their future. In conclusion, art subjects may be important to a child’s growth, but that does not mean that learning them is the duty of children because of the high demand for talents and beneficially risky careers in the future.