It is often said that the subjects taught in schools are too academic in orientation and that it would be more useful for children to learn about practical matters such as home management, work and interpersonal skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task

The words ‘education’ and ‘academic’ are used synonymously in our society. This may sound logical but it is much more complex than we think. When pupils come out of the school in the real world, they are expected to operate in a practical environment. However, not many professions should demand a prior theoretical knowledge. Personally, I tend to believe that some careers do not need knowledge from the books for the pupils to engage in them at all. On the one hand, information from educational institutions is a pre-requisite for many white-collar jobs and the knowledge it provides is a must to begin with. For example, the anatomy of the human body must be learned before practising in the field of healthcare. Should the knowledge from the textbooks be discarded in this field? No, as this would be non-negotiable in this kind of job. On the other hand, hands-on jobs like cooking and crafts may not need any type of books to start. Moreover, practice is more relevant to these skills than theory. If the student invests his/her time in training, he can master the discipline. As there is a shortage of manual workers in many parts of the world, a compulsory state education only exacerbates the situation. Thus, emphasising more on practical work than a qualification is helpful for world economies. In conclusion, academic knowledge is still essential for many jobs. Although it is widely required, not all professions should have this as a necessity. In order to increase overall productivity and employability, we should focus on both of these aspects.