More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programmes to get news. They get news about the world through the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is a common belief that by using the internet, people can achieve the news without reading newspapers or watching TV. Even though this phenomenon creates certain benefits, there will also be some drawbacks from it. The following essay will discuss both of these aspects and overall I advocate that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, a number of negative features of getting news from the internet still exists because of several reasons and the principal issue is that not every piece of information from the internet is legit and suitable for certain readers. In detail, the online data can come from many unauthorized sources which are fake websites, unconfirmed small online articles. As a result of reaching this toxic information, people can easily be negatively controlled by bad media and lack of the latest trends or events. On the other hand, despite the downside above, I am of the opinion that receiving the news from the internet will definitely bring more positive aspects to the community and the most obvious one is the convenience from the platforms which people use to access the latest data. In detail, instead of staying home watching TV or buying newspapers, the residents can now achieve the breaking news everywhere by using their portable devices such as smartphones, laptops, tablets… For this reason, everyone is always well informed with the most recent news in a quick and convenient way. In addition, thanks to the development of the digital century, working with technology makes life easier and saves us time to spend on other things whilst being updated with the newest events. In conclusion, despite the possible issues, I still have faith that adapting information from the internet is the trend of this era. Therefore, the society must always look out for gullible sources and in order to improve this, an effort by the government has to be made to stop these types of websites and the citizens should educate themselves to be wise users.