IELTS 12 - Test 6 - Task 2: At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Many countries inhabit younger populations and while some experts claim it is a great advantage for many reasons, others may be concerned about certain undesirable outcomes. This essay will assess both potential benefits and drawbacks in order to decide if it is really advantageous for citizens, or not. The primary reason why experts believe a lower median age in population is beneficial hence it means there are more employees in the workforce. Therefore, more dynamic populations such as South Korea and Indonesia, are expected to have an increase in their manufacturing and export rates in upcoming decades while countries that have ageing populations, such as Sweden and Belgium, are expecting a decrease in the growth of their economy. Moreover, younger populations may be able to save millions of dollars since it causes less pressure on healthcare systems. The quality and accessibility of healthcare, consequently, would be higher in comparison to countries with ageing populations. Yet there may be some challenges for younger populations, for example, the rising youth unemployment rate. Although developed countries like South Korea can offer their citizens unemployment support for their essential needs, many Southeast Asian countries ' residents could not find such opportunities due to their poor financial conditions. Unemployed youth can lead to other issues in the community such as increasing popularity in drug use and gambling habits, or even criminal activities. Governments, therefore, must be careful about their policies to handle their young populations and they should not underestimate the potential hazards that may occur. In conclusion, even though there may be challenges caused by having a younger population, these can be avoided by governments' efforts on planning and performing policies to handle the youth unemployment rate and the other issues. A younger population, however, is clearly more beneficial given the higher rate of employment in the workforce, as well as better quality and accessibility of healthcare.