Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, several processed foods include high amounts of carbohydrates. Consequently, it can have many negative impacts on the human body. In my view, levelling up these products cannot solve these health obstacles. On the one hand, increasing the price of sugary ingredients will deprive employers and employees of making a profit from sugary products. In other words, too many individuals cooperate in the process of making sugary substances. If owners don’t sell them at a bargain price, they may lose most of their customers. Consequently, most of the producers and businessmen, businesswomen, farmers and so on will be deprived of this market. For example, in some African countries such as Nigeria, their economy relies on sugar cane and its products. The government has decided to raise the price of products including carbohydrates. Finally, many people have lost their jobs and a widening gulf between rich and poor people has happened. On the other hand, these kinds of products can bring some negative results on our health and some people think increasing their price can prevent people from consuming them. Because, by increasing their price, consumers will be forced to purchase these products from overseas or maybe from some unreliable stalls. As a consequence, fewer people will be faced with the negative side effects of sugary products. For instance, authorities in Cameroon, have decided to make sugary ingredients more expensive to decrease the amount of diabetes. But it didn’t have a positive effect on society. Since people have brought these products illegally from foreign countries. In conclusion, making these products expensive cannot prevent people from overusing them. In my opinion, the best solution is teaching people the culture of consumption of beneficial ingredients on TV and social media. Moreover, authorities can constrain the amount of sugar in many foods. With this trick, sugar producers and many owners can make a profit from these products.