Digital communication technology such as email, instant messaging and social media has improved the communication and connections between people. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Advances in technology have made it easier than ever before to reach and interact with crowds around the world. Still, this does not mean that it has also become easier to connect and build meaningful relationships. In this essay, I will argue that while digital conversation may be easy and convenient, it is no substitute for face-to-face links. Compared to the past, it is now effortless, cheaper, and more convenient to communicate with the community, wherever they may be. Technologies such as instant messaging, social media apps, or voice-over IP have transformed how we interact with each other. For instance, thirty years ago, it was enormously difficult and quite expensive to get in touch with your loving ones who are in a different country but things have changed drastically now. Today, we can connect with the population around the world within a few seconds by simply pressing some buttons on our phones. While such advancements might have proven beneficial for contact, they do not necessarily help strengthen the relationship. Digital means of connection like instant messaging or voice-over IP, can never replace the contentment of physical interaction because they do not facilitate the non-verbal experience. We rely on body language, facial expression, and other subtle cues to understand others, and they are missing in digital interactions. The bond between society depends on genuine conversation, which is only possible when individuals talk in real life. Social media also fuels jealousy and competition among families. Facebook and Instagram are platforms for the public to show off their achievements. It makes others feel insecure, jealous and unhappy. In conclusion, digital technology has undoubtedly changed how we communicate in many positive ways. Getting in touch with friends and family in other cities or countries is a great advantage. Nevertheless, it has not strengthened human relationships. Technology can never take the place of face-to-face contacts, which are necessary to make the bond stronger.