Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes when set free. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

Many studies claim that there was a growing number of delinquents who re-offend after being free of charge. While the shortage of rehabilitation programs in prison and jobs could be blamed for this phenomenon, organizing more educational and training courses for prisoners could tackle it. A lack of careers could give rise to recidivism. In simple words, since the majority of civilians, especially employers, appear to discriminate against ex-criminals; therefore, there would be a world of difficulties for them to seek a job. It means that they stand no opportunity to meet their basic demands, thereby becoming robbers, thefts, or other crimes. Prison, moreover, acts as a place for deterrent instead of rehabilitation for wrongdoers. There is a public outcry against being soft on crime in various regions such as America; therefore, the authorities barely allocate resources to prison programs to aid offenders and ex-offenders to acquire necessary skills for living and rehabilitating their poor intentions. As a result, prisoners are more likely to commit further crimes when released back into society. Nevertheless, launching more programs to re-educate offenders could address this problem. With vocational training and academic study, they could gain professional skills such as handicraft, car-repairing, or gardening, which would probably promise more job opportunities for them to accommodate their needs. A salient instance of this is Switzerland, which provides degree programs for convicts to gain qualifications has the lowest recidivism rates. Furthermore, this practice could improve law-breakers’ minds and assist them to be more beneficial for society instead of being a danger. As follows, re-education could reduce the number of re-offend cases. In conclusion, although a lack of jobs and educational sessions contribute to the backsliding of crimes, providing rehabilitation programs for criminals would probably improve the issue.