international travel can make people prejudiced rather than broad minded. Why people fail to benefit when they travel? What we can do to improve their understanding of the countries they visit?

International traveling is one of the effective ways of broadening one’s outlook by understanding the diversity of different places. However, it could lead tourists to become biased instead of receptive due to cultural discrepancies in regions and preconceptions. Prior research and instruction from tourist organizations could alleviate this problem. This unwanted outcome is because what is considered sacred in one place may not hold any value for foreigners. In different countries, there are different customs in many practices, such as dress codes, codes of conduct, or etiquettes, and those traditions even could oppose the others. Thus, lacking knowledge could trigger misunderstandings and negative prejudices towards the locals. In Arab countries, for instance, women have to wear unrevealing clothes, as opposed to free clothing styles in Western nations; therefore, females from France or England tend to undermine the importance of those behaviors, developing an aversion towards the natives. Stereotyping contributes to prejudice among tourists. The source of stereotyping is the media portrayal of certain countries, places, and people which is why tourists have preconceived negative opinions about these sites. The beliefs of all Chinese civilians that are conservative is a salient instance of this. Accordingly, overseas travel could cause offensive feelings because of different values of cultures and stereotypes. Despite it, equipping visitors with sufficient knowledge could tackle this problem. If tour guides impart local culture information to visitors before visiting the tourism sites, it could aid the foreigners in being respect traditional customs and understanding the values of local traditions. Tourist agencies, for example, instruct about Yen Tu pagoda for tourists and advise them should wear polite clothes when visiting this pagoda due to ritual reasons. Self-researching, furthermore, appears acutely important before traveling abroad. In this world filled with technology, people could search and dig a country online through websites, travel blogs, or recreational programs, thereby gaining deeper insights into that foreign region. Without those adequate knowledge and preparation, there would probably be risks of cultural shocks and misunderstandings, simultaneously, that international trips may accentuate the stereotypes, thereby creating negative judgments. In conclusion, international tourism could result in prejudiced views because the host nations’ traditions differentiate from the foreigners. However, proper research and information could reduce the preconceptions and judgments towards indigenous customs.