Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A sense of competition is believed to be encouraged while others argue that cooperation is supreme for the future of the children. This essay will present/evaluate both of these views before showing why I favour the latter. On the one hand, others consider that competitiveness can be an essential source of motivation for adolescents and one of the most noticeable reasons is that children can be significantly independent. In detail, working alone means that kids must deal with problems on their own and without the support of other teammates. As a result, their ability to get over the issue along with their persistence and self-confidence, which are vital in today’s competitive working environment, are enhanced after each successful task. On the other hand, I am still convinced that cooperation is more helpful and one of the main causes is that adolescents can become more responsible. To be more specific, the group functions best when all the members do well in each of their missions, therefore when operating as a group, kids are able to supervise or assist others' work progress and still need to accomplish their own tasks perfectly. In addition, working in a group may improve the child’s communication skills and other soft skills such as sympathy. For example, when the result of the group is poor, kids know how to tolerate and appease the mistakes of other members. Consequently, the teenagers who grow up with an understanding of the necessity of helping each other are likely to become effective and more useful citizens. In conclusion, although a sense of competition is crucial for independence, responsibility and sympathy, operating as a group is likely to aid more for children's future life.