Governments should spend more money on education than on recreation and sports. Do you agree or Disagree?

Some politicians may claim that governments should spend a higher amount on education expenses rather than spending taxpayer money on recreation and sports. Given the importance of education and how it could turn into a long-term investment, I agree that education deserves a bigger take on governments ' budgets. This essay will examine the reasons behind my opinion. The essential reason why education must be prioritized in terms of financing is simply because of its importance. Many developed countries, for,example Finland and Denmark, have spent billions of dollars on planning, execution and review of their education policies after World War II. Consequently, they have raised many generations who are well-educated, self-aware and emotionally intelligent, able to speak foreign languages, and often aware of their responsibilities to the society and environment. These generations led the financial success in their countries by working hard, and they have also achieved having a better quality of life by demanding better democracy and better governance. Therefore, the importance of education should not be underestimated by governments, otherwise, it could end up miserably as it happened in other countries which have not invested enough capital in education, such as Afghanistan and Syria. Another supportive reason to more budget on education might be the fact that money spent on education is actually an investment. Imagine, rather than spending billions on recreation and sports, directing the taxpayer money into schools, universities, libraries and labs would highly increase the accessibility and the quality of such environments. In less than a decade timeframe, the number of general practitioners, lawyers, IT specialists would eventually be risen up which may lead to a boost in the economy and the workforce. Taxpayer money, therefore, could be spent on a better future by financing education instead of organizing events and multi-day festivals. In conclusion, while some may argue that recreational activities and sports deserve the same size in governments ' budget, given the significance and potential benefits of having a better-educated population, I agree that governments should spend more money on education.