Some people think that the best way to solve environmental problems is to increase the price of fuel for cars and other vehicles. Do you agree or disagree?

Over the last few decades, our cities faced unprecedented growth of traffic congestion, and as a result of this, we encounter a litany of environmental pollution. Some experts believe that the rising of petrol is the best way to resolve this problem. In my opinion, it may help to some extent; however, this is not the only solution. To begin with, increasing the price of petrol can help reduce environmental pollution to some degree. In other words, excessive use of cars releases carbon dioxide into the atmosphere which is detrimental to the environment. If the price of petrol is hiked, individuals will start to use private cars less often and this, in turn, decelerates the rate of air pollution. However, the increase in the cost of petrol will not stop environmental pollution. Besides, the fuel price determines the market price of other necessary commodities, and increasing the price can affect poor and middle-class families. Alternatively, the government can take other measures to mitigate this problem. A better solution is to invest in sustainable energy resources, such as tide, wind and solar rather than non-renewable resources like coal and diesel. For example, solar power in the United States has proven its efficiency in energy production. In addition, using solar power to run public vehicles would result in cheap fare. This will encourage people to travel through eco-friendly cheap tram, buses and trains. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the hike in petrol is not the best solution to this problem. Thus an effective way to control the aforementioned issue would be to use other renewable resources of energy in the public transport system which can significantly bring down traffic and air pollution problems.