Parents are often over-anxopus to teach their children to speak. If children are ‘slow developers’, parents will often allow psychologists and schols to intervene and give their children speech therapy. Do you think children developat different rates and so should be left to themselves to acquire language skills, or is such intervension justified? Discuss both vies and give your own opinion

The majority of parents nowadays are afraid if their children are being left from other kids in terms of speaking. Therefore, whenever they see speech-delay symptoms in their children, they quickly seek help from the expert and school to solve this problem. However, some people argue that children should learn language by themself. There are valid opinions on both side which I will consider now. On the one hand, the major benefit of undergoing speech therapy conducted by psychologist together with school is they help children to speak efficiently under the supervision of an expert. First and foremost, the therapy will be planned in thorough decisions depending on the child‘s needs. Further, the progress will be monitored and maintained regularly by a linier approach between the therapist, the school and parents at home. Therefore the great result will be accomplished in a short time and equip the children with a better skill on communication. On the other hand, some people believe that speaking is a natural gift of a human that should not be forced. For instance, based on some belief, toddler girls tend to speak at 20 months, while boys will start to do it at 24 months. Therefore, parents should wait and keep stimulating their children to speak by actively playing and singing together. By continously doing it, kids will be familiar to certain words and mimick their parents in speaking. In conclusion, although language is a natural capability that human has, I think intervening the problem to the psychologist while you find the sign of speech delay is a wise movement to help your children. I advise parents for not neglecting the sign and seek help from the therapist immediately