Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which why children are less well educated today. To what extend do you agree with this statement.

Some argue that adolescents now are becoming addicted to watching TV even though it cannot provide the same way of learning like books, which are impossible to replace. I vehemently disagree with that notion and in this essay I will explain my view and discuss the topic above. Firstly, some people can argue that the way children are brought up nowadays has changed significantly. TVs are widely available to buy and are considerably cheap. Equally, many kids know how to use them in early stages of their lives. If the use of that electronic device is adequately controlled by parents, it can benefit their development significantly. In addition, there are many apps available which help learning numbers, different languages, letters and whatever the youngest are interested in. Nonetheless, some of them use the entertaining box too often, but that is the aspect parents should control and discuss. Now, the education system has changed a lot in the last decades, but it does not mean that children are less well educated now. They are taught in different ways, although not worse ways. For instance my mum often reminds me that she had to go to the library to do the research and her homework, and now it is easier as we can find all the information needed on the Internet and In TV programmes. I strongly agree with that, but equally believe that the amount of content to learn has increased and it is challenging to get into a desired school. Furthermore, the TV can help teenagers nowadays to broaden their knowledge in many ways, as they are many documentaries available about science, history and many more topics. Consequently children can learn through watching those programmes and choose the ones they are interested in the most. To conclude, young people these days are watching television in earlier stages of their lives and are spending a great amount of time using it. However, parents should have a responsibility for how often children are allowed to do that. Thus they can control the way that device is used, so they benefit young ones.