Some old people today struggle with the use of modern technologies such as smartphones and computers. What is the cause of this? What are some possible solutions?

One issue which causes wide controversy is that pensioners do not use to dealing with IT technologies. It can be related to some different reasons, such as type of mindset, difficulties of use and unwillingness to go with the times. Let us examine each of these points in detail and determine several options to solve this problem. Some people suppose that everyone has a personal opinion about using gadgets in the different spheres of modern life. Thus, retirees prefer real-life communication instead of keeping in touch with social networks. Older insist that people spend too much time online and often avoid face-to-face communication. Besides some old people have difficulties in using a personal smartphone. For example, they cannot appeal with settings, apps and video calls. However, as is generally known, there is a simple solution for every complicated problem. Firstly, the youngsters should help their grannies to handle different platforms and devices. Secondly, gadget developers should invent new smartphones, which can be easier to use for all age groups. Thirdly, friendly design and simple form, produced by the designers, make older generations life less stressful as well. In summary, IT is an inevitable part of well-being now. The pensioners’ well-being is not an exception. In my opinion, tastes differ, but we cannot deny that technology made many aspects of life more pleasurable and comfortable. As far as information technology dominates our home, leisure and work activities, old people have to learn how to deal with smartphones as soon as it will be possible.