Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial perspective heating a debate whether to deal with convicts. While some hold a strong view that putting them in jail is not a feasible method, the opposite makes a statement that getting access to studies and training is a better way. While the former is valid to some extent, I consider myself as an advocate of the latter. On the one hand, it is understandable why many people believe that getting convicts into prison is not an efficient measure. Without a shadow of a doubt, the number of cases about committing a crime again has been increasing considerably over the last decade. Criminals are usually surrounded by evils when they are in jail so that their environment has a negative impact on their behavior. Prisoners are able to be induced to participate in many illegal organizations in order to violate the law together. For example, many researches indicated that about 25% of criminals continue violating the law after getting out of jail. They still do various illegal acts such as murdering, kidnapping, robbing… This did great damage to society and reduced the government fund significantly. Therefore, imprisonment is not the best approach to deal with the criminals. On the other hand, education and training should put emphasis on criminals ’ teaching methods. This could raise convicts’ awareness about the acceptable behavior, law and make them get access to practical experience. For example, the government might create more apprenticeship centers for criminals so that fruitful knowledge could be provided to them. On top of that, they also have an opportunity to be an employer, who could contribute value to society. Thus, providing knowledge and training play a vital role in recreating their personalities and making themselves to be a good citizen. In conclusion, putting convicts into jail is not a feasible way to deal with them and they should have an opportunity to get access to not only valuable knowledge, but also the training lessons.