Some people think that young people should choose their professions themselves. Others believe that their parents should choose for them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Choosing a career is one of the hardest choices that every one of us has to make at some point in life. Some may argue that parents have the right to decide for their children, others that everybody has to choose on their own in order to become what they want in life. In my opinion, sometimes parents can be helpful to decide our future, however, they should not force their children into pursuing a career that doesn't really fit them. I agree that when there is a family business that has been running for generations it's sad to see it stopped due to a son that doesn't want to manage the company. In fact, it is very common to see parents who own a family business pushing their kids into the company. Despite that would be a great opportunity I think everyone has the right to choose what they want. In our lifetime, we tend to spend more than half of it working. That is why choosing a career needs to be an individual decision, furthermore doing something that we don't like can have drastic drawbacks, in our job and in our personal life. In fact, people who do not like their job tend to do it badly, in addition, spending most of our days working at something we do not like at all can easily cause psychological problems, like anxiety and depression. Overall, that is why I believe everyone should have the right to choose their job. Working is a crucial part of our lives, almost half of it, doing ones that we do not like could harm seriously our mental health.