Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

参考范文 It is undeniable that fixed punishment has prominent importance in warning people from committing crimes that have a substantial impact on society, for instance, human trafficking and smuggling of drugs. However, I am more in favour of the idea that punishment should be on a case-by-case basis due to the fundamental difference in the motivations of the criminal and the situation he was in. It is believed that a fixed punishment for various crimes could deter members of society from committing these crimes. This is because the non-negotiable stand held by the judiciary makes individuals less willing to sacrifice their future. For instance, - Singapore has a firm and strict stand on severe crimes such as human trafficking and the smuggling of drugs. Failure to comply will definitely result in the death sentence. Hence, with a strict law implemented, the majority of the population dare not commit this crime. However, this strict and inflexible approach may be a success at the expense of human rights. The judicial system should be more humane and just. This is because people may not have an abundance of choices in critical situations. For instance, individuals may commit a crime because they have no way to survive if they refused to do it. This can be widely seen in African countries. Poverty has left individuals no way but to commit crimes such as stealing to make a living. Hence, in these,conditions they are forced to commit crimes. Sympathy and a chance to change should be given to them in order for them to contribute in the future. Hence, the judiciary should be humane and flexible. In conclusion, a firm and strict judicial system could result in a safe and prosperous country. However, it should be humane and flexible in order to give people a chance to turn over a new leaf.