Some students tend to travel after finishing school and spend time working somewhere instead of going to the university directly. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? (May 2021) Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, there is a considerable delay in students enrolling for studies post their school. Since most of them are seen to opt-out of college to spend time far away from their homes and earn money. This essay, will discuss both merits and demerits of this scenario with evidence to support them. To begin with, young students show more emphasis on earning and being independent to support their own needs. Taking up jobs and being far away from their comfort zones, will only provide them valuable life lessons which cannot be taught by any colleges or university. For instance, there is a survey conducted by UK based NGO, which clearly points out that students who tend to do skilled work post during their mid teenagers are observed to be wiser and street smart when compared to regular school-going children. This shows, how youngsters are getting moulded into a perfect human being. On the other hand, students who opt out of colleges seem to have lost their touch with studies and they seem to be less intelligent. Many youths have derailed from the core principles of family life and they have seen to decline towards bad habits or behaviour post being independent and started earning money. For example, my colleague’s son, who was studying very well until his 10th standard, opted to become self-sufficient and support himself on his studies, but he has failed post going for a job. He lost his studying interest and he became addicted to all anti-social elements. To summarise, the current generation of youth has evolved in such a way that their thoughts are different to the previous generations. They tend to be inclined towards being independent and earning to support themselves. There is always positive and negative sides to this, but with due diligence and individual thought,process one can make the right call.