Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, prevention is a high-priority agenda to reduce the rate of chronic disease that emerges because of risky behaviour. Some people argue that encouraging people to work out by providing exercise facilities in public will support the idea, while others believe there are other strategies that will be more efficient to be applied. There are valid opinions on both sides which I will consider now. On the one hand, one major benefit of the greater amount of sport amenities is that it pushes people to do athletic activities. For instance, if the government provides soccer field in every district, it will excite people to play football in order to kill their free time. This act will create positive environment as we spend less time on gadget and focus on real life activity. Furthermore, it will surely strengthen the immune system to fight infection as the more we move our body, the more our blood flow increases. On the other hand, the usage of sport facilities lies on individual willingness; therefore better we focus on other strategies that I believe will be more efficient. First, we have to control our daily consumption by reducing sugar intake. For example, we can start to substitute white rice to potato because potato contains less carbohydrate than rice to avoid us from getting diabetes in the future. Second, the Government should reinforce this idea by formulating public policies in controlling sugar percentage in food products. This approach will deliver extensive impact as it will automatically cut the sugar consumption in population level. Overall, I think that increasing the number of sport facilities is not effective to improve public health because it gambles on personal willingness. Cutting the daily sugar intake, supported by Government’s movement on regulating policies for food commodities, is better to enhance the quality of public health massively.