In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cell phone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Nowadays, in many developed countries, making payment for the purchase using mobile apps is being a kind of more and more popular payment method. This essay will argue that despite online payment attracting more scams and it is not affordable for everyone, paying using mobile apps create a cashless environment and is convenient for both seller and buyer. First of all, there are several online payment methods available these days by using mobile apps such as G pay, Apply pay, Grab pay...etc. A common problem and main disadvantage of this type of payment is the scam. Online scam is a high crime rate in most of the countries that use those types of payment because making purchase and payment are too easy and it can happen within a second. For instance, the highest crime rate in Singapore in 2020 is online scams. Secondly, in order to use mobile apps for payment, people need these basic things smartphone, the internet, bank account. Although these are common items and everyone owned in developed countries, most people cannot afford them in poorer countries. By contrast, mobile payments encourage cashless environments. It improves a lot to our daily life. A past decade ago before smartphones were invented, people usually carried a lot of cash along with them wherever they go. Sometimes, we faced a shortage of small changes upon our purchase. For example, in Myanmar, sellers usually give sweets as a returned change when they don't have small coins. Another point of advantage is convenience. Mobile banking and payments create easier our daily trades. It is just a click away from our hands. For example, in China, most people, nowadays, carry less cash. All payments are mostly paid by a mobile app called Alipay. In conclusion, however, mobile apps payments are useful and easy for us, there are disadvantages as a drawback created by some criminals.