Some people think that the increase in international travel has a negative impact on the environment and should be restricted. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some argue that the rise in global travel has a detrimental effect on the environment and should be banned. This essay agrees with this statement because it has contributed to a high rate of pollution and traffic congestion. We live in a modernised world today.The extent to which many means of commuting have been developed due to advancements in technology has led to frequent travelling around the globe. This in turn has worsened the pollution levels in our surroundings. Many passengers travel by air and road these days which causes an increased level of pollution because of the great number of toxic fumes such as Carbon dioxide,Carbon monoxide,and Sulphur oxides to mention a few that are released during the combustion of fuel in vehicles and aircraft. For example, the London Heathrow airport, one of the busiest airports in the globe reports a total of around 5,200 flights per week. This is one of the contributing factors to the negative effects of international travel. In addition,traffic congestion in various cities around the earth especially during peak seasons like summer greatly damages our climate. Owing to the influx of tourists,countries' populations increased significantly during that period of time which led to vehicle buildup. For Instance, Paris is one of the most visited cities on the planet because it has many attraction sites and there are usually so many tourists in the city that causes high gridlock rates. In conclusion, International flying should be restricted because of high levels of environmental deterioration and road buildup which have bad impacts on our ecosystem.