some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Advertising plays an indispensable role in contemporary society. Some people harbour a belief that advertisements are a successful marketing strategy for the company to show their products to consumers, whereas others hold the reverse viewpoint that they neglect to advertise whenever it performs. In my opinion, I am inclined to stand with both views. Admittedly, advertising is regarded as a successful strategy in promoting products. The front and centre in its favour are that advertising targets peoples’ cravings and stimulates people to buy the products. For example, advertisements via catchy slogans and songs stick both the brands, items and their function in the consumers’ brain. Those advertisements exert a subtle influence on consumers making decisions. Consumers would buy the products which have been shown in the commercial. In other words, advertising tries to persuade people to buy products that attract attention. However, there is a growing tendency that advertisements display everywhere and anytime. Especially television commercials, some companies continuously perform commercials to brainwash the viewers. The repeat of television commercials triggers the audiences to lose interest in products. In addition, some product placement advertising interrupts the viewers drawn into the plot of dramas, so the viewers may try to either neglect or skip the advertisements whenever they saw them. In my opinion, displaying advertisements should be in appropriate times and places. If companies have not adjusted their advertising strategy, they might contribute to increasing audiences to focus on the advertisements. In conclusion, it is true that advertising attains an achievement in promotion, but it still has to alter the displaying frequency that people are willing to focus on it.