Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest time of most people’s lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, inspite of greater responsibilities. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often believed that people feel the happiest during their youth. However, some people are sceptical about this as the happiest feeling adults experience outweighs that of young adults despite their growing responsibilities. I partially support the former view, for more diverse experiences young people have regardless of an increasing sense of satisfaction among responsible adults. On the one hand, the feeling of happiness among young people is generally higher than that of adults because their age does not prevent them from exploring various adventures. In other words, they are more likely to make their dreams come true even if it comes with some risks. For instance, I was satisfied the most with a boat trip around the world at the age of 20, which allowed me to encounter people from different nationalities from Switzerland to China in spite of the long journey which took 320 days. This experience is still valuable to me, making me more confident and challenging than ever. On the other hand, adults tend to feel more accomplished with their work due to their superior work experiences. Even though senior jobs come with greater responsibilities, they are often more proud of their growing commitment to their work. Furthermore, their special and sophisticated skills not only lead to higher productivity and education for young employees but also substantial rewards such as promotion and a higher salary. Thus, they are more likely to gain trust and respect from others, which young people cannot easily obtain. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that the level of happiness among the young exceeds that of adults because of the more adventurous experiences they can have without worrying about their health much. Nevertheless, an increasing sense of pride and accomplishment resulting from a longer contribution to work is unique to adults.