sudies show that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison so they could get a good job once they are released. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Researchers have shown a positive correlation between a prisoner's level of education and their tendency of committing a crime. While several people think that if the government makes some arrangements to educate the prisoner, perhaps crime will be deterred, I believe that educating the people only in prison could not solve this phenomenon. It is distinct that education discourages people from becoming involved in illegal works. For example, in America, research shows that many people who do not have minimum education level or any training to get a good job commit crimes the most. This is because when a person does not get any job, he might be getting involved in foul deeds for their livelihood. Hence, the government should take responsibility to educate the underprivileged persons before they do any terrible job. Furthermore, The jail authority might introduce some job training for the prisoner; thus, they can acquire knowledge about a particular work, and after imprisonment, they could get a better job opportunity to earn their bread and butter. Moreover, prisoners should go through counselling arranged by mental health professionals, which will help them understand how harmful their works are for the nation. For instance, In Norway, the government has set up a monthly counselling programme. As a result, within some months, there has been a change seen among the criminals. To conclude, it seems that education is the most significant way to reduce crimes in society, but in my perspective, it will not be fruitful to educate only the prisoners. Instead, the government should take further steps to spread education across all levels of people in the country, and crime could be deterred by arranging job training and mental health counselling in prison.