Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is disturbing that global warming has become a major concern in present times. An argument is made that increasing the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles will overcome the environmental problems. I completely disagree with this statement. This essay will discuss the idea and will justify my opinion. To begin with, increasing the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles will indirectly increase the product prices. In other words, the products which are transported from different parts of the world will increase the purchase cost because of the fuel charges increased to deliver the product. This might reduce the demand for the product and there will be an uneven change in supply. For example, as the petrol and diesel price increases the prices of vegetable, dairy products, and online delivery charges are increased. Therefore in this was increasing fuel prices will indirectly increase the prices for daily needed products. Another reason why fuel prices should not be increased is, the cost of travel may become expensive. The cost of aeroplanes, trains, buses, cabs, and any other transport service will be on a higher side. This will indirectly affect the tourism sector, as many countries like the Maldives, Switzerland are highly dependent on tourism so the revenue generated from tourists will reduce and the resource becomes limited. Moreover, inter-country travel will also see a reduction in passengers travelling. To sum up, increasing the petrol and diesel prices will help to control environmental problems up to some extent, but on the other side, it will increase the product purchase cost and revenue generated through tourism will reduce.