Some people say the computers can translate languages, so children need not study foreign languages anymore. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, it is undeniable that technologies, such as computer have developed translation features to make life easier, especially when communicating with different languages. This can lead to the fact that learning foreign languages is not mandatory from a young age. Although some may agree with this view, I am opposed to it due to several reasons, which will be examined in this essay. One of the most apparent reasons is that learning foreign languages at a young age is giving benefit beyond using simple translation. To illustrate, languages can help children develop personal skills. Moreover, improving all of aspects of ability, such as learning other languages, is difficult, so they will have problem-solving skills, concentration, utilise brain memory, and cultural awareness. For example, communicating in a language not their mother tongue fluently shows that children are confident in delivering meanings and translating accurately. In addition, being able to communicate directly with people from other countries can build stronger relationships and trust rather than relying on a device. This is especially important in real-life if planning to study or work abroad. Another point that should not be overlooked is that translation technology is not always accurate or suitable for every situation. To clarify, an automated system may have tons of knowledge, however, lacking critical thinking to use in the right context, such as idioms, exaggerated words or expressions of meanings. For example, the feature translation may give the right meanings, but sounds unrealistic due to its translation as individual words. Furthermore, if children rely on technology to make their lives quicker and easier, however, the fact that they may face some difficulties when the internet is not accessible or poorly connected, which affects their understanding or ability to respond promptly and appropriately. To recapitulate, it is evident that while computers offer convenience, learning foreign languages remains important for cognitive development, cultural understanding and independent communication. Therefore, I firmly believe that children should not rely on technology for its convenience, but use it as a supportive device for learning in other languages rather than replacing it.