We can get knowledge from news, but some people think we cannot trust journalists. What do you think? What qualities do you think a successful journalist should have?

There is a controversial statement heating a debate over whether or not people should trust journalists and the information they deliver. This essay is devoted to explaining why I believe that it is reasonable to raise skepticism of the journalist’s credibility, along with core virtues that a respected reporter should have. On the one hand, there are a myriad of reasons why people might feel reluctant to believe a newsman or newswoman. A great many journalists nowadays are catering for wider audiences in order to accelerate their viewership of the news, or in other words, make profit expansion. To do this, many news media have a tendency to focus on tabloid news, especially related to personal life scandals of celebrities which can draw an appeal to more readers. For example, some newspapers recently have spread miserable rumors about the newly married life of Mako, a Japanese princess who left royal family to stay with a commoner. However, this information has not been confirmed yet and should not be trusted by anyone. On the other hand, accomplished journalists should have honesty and determination. They should disperse the latest trustworthy source of information to the community instead of following other poor-trained co-workers who only want to provoke the curiosity of readers by twisting the facts. Furthermore, they should also be persistent to defend the freedom of the press as well as ordinary people's right to know the truth, despite being under different forms of pressures. To sum up, I believe that readers should wisely choose the trustful source information updated by notorious newspapers to avoid misleading news, while being honest and determined in any situations are the important inner-traits that a successful information sender should have.